BCB Author Event: CelebrAsian, Wed 7/27 6pm

BCB

$10.00

Wednesday 7/27 at 6pm

CelebrAsian:

Laughs & Sass with 4 API Women Writers

Join Bel Canto Books as we welcome 4 API women writers: 

Jayci Lee, BOOKED ON A FEELING

Jennifer J. Chow, DEATH BY BUBBLE TEA

Susan Lee, SEOULMATES (forthcoming 9/2022)

Suzanne Park, SO WE MEET AGAIN

  • RSVP required; please select the ticket option that best fits your group.
  • Attendees will be required to follow all current COVID-19 restrictions.
  • This is an outdoor event in the garden at The Hangout (2122 E 4th Street, LB). 

ABOUT THE BOOKS

BOOKED ON A FEELING

An overachieving lawyer. A failing bookstore. A childhood friend. The chance of a lifetime. Lizzy “Overachiever” Chung, Esq. doesn’t know the meaning of “can’t.” That is until she passes out from a panic attack during her first trial. Her law firm gives her paid time-off to “relax,” but she has no clue how. Jack Park, her childhood friend, wants her to rediscover the iridescent joy she had pre-law school and college, and convinces her to stay with him in Weldon. He's been planning to move away from his parents' loving but overprotective gaze and more specifically away from Weldon and his family’s brewery, but that can wait a few more weeks until his friend finds her footing again. But when an unexpected attraction flares between them while Lizzy tries to resuscitate a failing bookstore on Weldon, the two must choose between past dreams or their forever together.

DEATH BY BUBBLE TEA

The first in a new cozy mystery series about two cousins who start a food stall at their local night market by Jennifer J. Chow, author of Mimi Lee Gets a ClueWhen Yale Yee discovers her cousin Celine is visiting from Hong Kong, she is obliged to play tour guide to a relative she hasn’t seen in twenty years. Not only that, but her father thinks it’s a wonderful idea for them to bond by running a food stall together at the Eastwood Village Night Market. Yale hasn’t cooked in years, and she hardly considers Celine’s career as a social media influencer as adequate experience, but because she’s just lost her job at her local bookstore, she feels she has no choice. Yale and Celine serve small dishes and refreshing drinks, and while business is slow, it eventually picks up thanks to Celine’s surprisingly useful marketing ideas. They’re quite shocked that their bubble tea, in particular, is a hit—literally—when one of their customers turns up dead. Yale and Celine are prime suspects due to the gold flakes that Celine added to the sweet drink as a garnish. Though the two cousins are polar opposites in every way, they must work together to find out what really happened to the victim or the only thing they’ll be serving is time.

SEOULMATES (forthcoming 9/2022)

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Jenny Han, this debut YA love story by Susan Lee is a classic childhood best friends-to-lovers tale with a K-drama twist, telling the story of one unforgettable summer shared by two Korean American teenagers (one of whom just happens to be Seoul’s newest K-drama superstar).
Her ex-boyfriend wants her back. Her former best friend is in town. When did Hannah’s life become a K-drama? Hannah Cho had the next year all planned out—the perfect summer with her boyfriend, Nate, and then a fun senior year with their friends. But then Nate does what everyone else in Hannah’s life seems to do—he leaves her, claiming they have nothing in common. He and all her friends are newly obsessed with K-pop and K-dramas, and Hannah is not. After years of trying to embrace the American part and shunning the Korean side of her Korean American identity to fit in, Hannah finds that’s exactly what now has her on the outs. But someone who does know K-dramas—so well that he’s actually starring in one—is Jacob Kim, Hannah’s former best friend, whom she hasn’t seen in years. He’s desperate for a break from the fame, so a family trip back to San Diego might be just what he needs…that is, if he and Hannah can figure out what went wrong when they last parted and navigate the new feelings developing between them.

SO WE MEET AGAIN

From the author of the “genuinely funny” and “delightful” Loathe at First Sight (NPR), a young Korean American woman’s journey to finding a new career and new love means learning to embrace the awkward and unexpected—exploring familial expectations, finding your voice, and unimaginably falling for your childhood rival.
When investment banker Jessie Kim is laid off in a virtual meeting and then overhears why (“she’s already being overpaid anyway for a woman” and “Asians are worker bees, not someone who can drum up new deals”) she delivers an “eff you guys” speech and storms out. After moving back home to Tennessee to live with her loving but meddling mother and father, she runs into her childhood nemesis—golden child Daniel Choi—at the local Asian grocery store. The smart, charming lawyer appears to have it all...while Jessie has nothing. Jess begrudgingly accepts Daniel’s help to relaunch her long abandoned Korean cooking YouTube channel: HANGUK HACKS, showcasing easy meal prep for busy professionals. But just as she discovers Daniel’s life isn’t as perfect as it seems and there’s more to him than meets the eye, he shows up for a life-changing business opportunity, and their rivalry is back on . . .

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Jayci Lee writes poignant, sexy, and laugh-out-loud romance every free second she can scavenge and is semi-retired from her fifteen-year career as a defense litigator. She loves food, wine, and travelling, and incidentally so do her characters, in books like The Dating Dare and A Sweet Mess. Jayci lives in sunny California with her tall-dark-and-handsome husband, two amazing boys with boundless energy, and a fluffy rescue whose cuteness is a major distraction.

Jennifer J. Chow is the Lefty Award-nominated author of the Sassy Cat Mysteries and the L.A. Night Market Mysteries. The first in the Sassy Cat series, Mimi Lee Gets A Clue, was selected as a PopSugar Best Summer Beach Read and was one of BuzzFeed’s Top 5 Books by AAPI authors. She currently serves as Vice President on the national board of Sisters in Crime and is active in Crime Writers of Color. 

Susan Lee has had a lifetime of careers, from bartender to network engineer to HR executive at some of today’s most successful companies. But one thing has always been clear throughout: she was born to be a storyteller. And she has channeled her myriad of experiences into her writing of lighthearted, quirky novels about the oftentimes hilarious human condition. And love. Always love. She currently lives in Southern California (fighting her inner New Yorker from breaking free too often) with a pack of three feisty chihuahuas and a too-hearty obsession with K-pop and K-dramas.

Suzanne Park is a Korean American writer who was born and raised in Tennessee. In her former life as a stand up comedian, Suzanne appeared on BET's "Coming to the Stage," was the winner of the Seattle Sierra Mist Comedy Competition, and was a semi-finalist in NBC's "Stand Up For Diversity" showcase in San Francisco. Suzanne graduated from Columbia University and received an MBA Degree from UCLA. Her books have been featured in “best of” lists in NPR, Popsugar, Real Simple, Country Living, Bustle, Buzzfeed, Marie Claire, Parade, Shondaland and The Today Show.