BCB Author Event: Sophia N. Lee, Wed 8/31, 6pm

BCB

$18.99

BCB Author Event: Sophia N. Lee, Wed 8/31, 6pm is backordered and will ship as soon as it is back in stock.

Wednesday 8/31 at 6pm PT / 9pm ET

Virtual Picture Book Launch and Preorder Campaign for Sophia N. Lee and Isabel Roxas, HOLDING ON

Join Bel Canto Books as we welcome two amazing Filipina American authors and artists, Sophia N. Lee and Isabel Roxas, to celebrate the launch of their new picture book HOLDING ON, to be published on 8/30 by Simon & Schuster!

  • This will be a virtual event through Crowdcast. 
  • Your event purchase will include a signed copy of the book with preorder goodies, along with access to the streaming live event on 8/31.

ABOUT THE BOOK

A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar’s Coco.

There is always singing in Lola’s house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: “If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs.”

Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola’s wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sophia N. Lee grew up in the Philippines. She wanted to be many things growing up: doctor, teacher, ballerina, ninja, crime-fighting international spy, wizard, time traveler, journalist, and lawyer. She likes to think she can be all these things and more through writing. She looks a lot like her lola Benita, but she inherited her love for writing from her lola Josefina, who worked as a principal and an English teacher. She is the author of Soaring Saturdays; What Things Mean, which won a Scholastic Asian Book Award’s grand prize; and Holding On.

ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATOR

Isabel Roxas is the author and illustrator of The Adventures of Team Pom: Squid Happens. She was born in Manila, Philippines, was raised on luscious mangoes, old wives’ tales, and monsoon moons. Isabel has illustrated several books for young readers, including Our Skin: A First Conversation about Race by Megan Madison and Jessica Ralli, Let Me Finish! by Minh Lê (named an NPR Best Book of 2016) and Day at the Market by May Tobias-Papa (2010 winner of the Philippine National Book Award).